Robin Gibb

Photo © Robin Gibb & band

Today I read on the news of the death of Robin Gibb.

I grew up with the music of the Bee Gees, like I did with the music of Fleetwood Mac, Pink Floyd, Genesis, dire Straits and many, many others. Even Abba is part of my life’s soundtrack.

And so is Robin Gibb. There is no way to describe how I feel about his death after a fight he couldn’t win. I cherish the memory of this one song that says it all. Because of it’s intensity, because of the lyrics and because of that voice of Robin Gibb with that little crack in it that made it unforgettable.

This specific song reminds me of one of the darkest times in my life and of how this song made me clear what the world really was like. It comforted me then somehow and it still does.

Dear Robin, I loved you for your music.

Alice © 2012

This song should be listened to and the lyrics should be read to fully understand it’s value. Out of respect for Robin Gibb and his brothers Barry and Maurice (who passed away in 2003) I will translate this song later this week into a Dutch version. With love and good memories.

Songwriters: GIBB, MAURICE ERNEST / GIBB, ROBIN HUGH / GIBB, BARRY ALAN

I started a joke, which started the whole world crying,
but I didn’t see that the joke was on me, oh no.

I started to cry, which started the whole world laughing,
oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

I looked at the skies, running my hands over my eyes,
and I fell out of bed, hurting my head from things that I’d said.

Til I finally died, which started the whole world living,
oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

I looked at the skies, running my hands over my eyes,
and I fell out of bed, hurting my head from things that I’d said.

‘Til I finally died, which started the whole world living,
oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was one me.

