If I could not tell you…

Today it is exactly 1 month ago that I had to leave my love behind in Nepal. Since that sad day my mind has been with her every hour, minute and second of the day. This lovesong translated by me from the beautiful Afrikaner language version I dedicate to my love and my heart.

Just a little love song in the works. I’m in that mood today, I wonder why (well not really…). So this is Amanda Strydom’s beautiful ‘Hoe ek voel’ in English… Some changes might still be made in the coming days. I love this song! Original lyrics in Afrikaans by Johannes Kerkorrel, the gay singer who in the aftermath of the Apartheid regime in South Africa was so controversial that he was banned from radio. He ended his life some years later under still unclear circumstances. His inheritance is one of wonderfully crafted and sometimes lyrical songs that still touch the hearts of many. Further on you can listen to the original on YouTube.

So here’s my English language version:

If I could not tell you

So if I could not tell you
If I could not let you see
I would order a portrait painter
To make a painting of thee
And if he would finally finish
If he would finish his masterpiece
You would know, you would know
That what I did, didn’t show

How I feel, how I feel, for you!

If I could not let you see
If I could not let you read
I would rent a fax machine
And send poems made by me
And if you then would receive
If you read and can believe
You would know, you would know
That what I did, didn’t show
How I feel, how I feel, for you!

If I could not let you read
If I could not let you hear
I would send a choir to you
A serenade in the evening late
And if you would wake up then
And throw your windows wide open
You would know, you would know
That what I did, didn’t show
How I feel, how I feel, for you!

You would know, you would know this
You would know this, you would know
That what I did, didn’t show
How I feel, how I feel, for you!

Original music and lyrics: Johannes Kerkorrel
English lyrics: Alice Verheij © 2012

Alice © 2012